Emerging Scholar Awards

A small number of Emerging Scholar Awards are given to outstanding graduate students and emerging scholars who have an active research interest in the conference themes. The Award provides a strong professional development opportunity for early career academics—meeting experts in the field, interacting with colleagues from other parts of the world, and creating networks and lasting connections. Awardees are invited to attend the conference to present their work and play a critical organizational role in the conference by leading discussions, chairing parallel sessions, and providing assistance in session rooms.

Applications are open to those pursuing research degrees, post- and graduate students, as well as early career faculty.

To apply, follow the link below. You may also view further instructions by selecting our "Step-By-Step Guide."

Early Deadline: 14 September 2021
Final Deadline: 14 January 2022

2022 Recipients

For each conference, a small number of Emerging Scholar Awards are given to outstanding graduate students and emerging scholars who have an active research interest in the conference themes. Emerging Scholars perform a critical role in the conference by chairing the parallel sessions, providing technical assistance in the sessions, and presenting their own research papers. The 2021 Emerging Scholar Award Recipients are as follows:

​Vaidehi Raipat

​Vaidehi Raipat

Center for Urban Science and Progress, New York University, USA

Vaidehi Raipat, an Urban Designer, Researcher and an Architect is the Founder and Principal of Innovature Research and Design Studio [IRDS], Bangalore. She is currently perusing her Masters in Applied urban science and Informatics from CUSP at New York University. She has worked with distinguished firms and institutions before she founded IRDS in 2017. Along with being a passionate architect, her interests in the field of Temporal, Social and cultural research also drive the agenda of IRDS. She has written, presented and published many papers in National as well as International Journals. She as a writing and research enthusiast who has also published a few articles in newspapers/magazines of National Repute.

Benjamin A. Bross

Benjamin A. Bross

Assistant Professor, School of Architecture, University of Illinois

Benjamin A. Bross, an Assistant Professor at the Illinois School of Architecture, focuses on how spatial production embodies place-based sociocultural identity. His book Mexico City’s Zócalo: A History of a Constructed Spatial Identity (Routledge) and published articles examine the origin of spatial typologies, urbanscapes, their uses, and the increasing design challenge posed by globalization. He is a licensed architect and has worked for nearly 25 years in the design and construction of over 50 projects, at all scales, across three continents. Benjamin holds a Ph.D. in History from the Universidad Iberoamericana, Mexico; an M.U.D from UC Berkeley’s CED and an M. Arch. from Harvard’s GSD.

Kushagra Varma

Kushagra Varma

School of Architecture and Civil and Environmental Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Kushagra is a Ph.D. student in the School of Architecture and Civil and Environmental Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University. Prior to joining Carnegie Mellon, Kushagra has taught in the Construction Engineering and Management programs at Stevens Institute of Technology and has worked in the Architecture-Engineering-Construction (AEC) industry as an architect, naval-architect, and an owner representative in New York City. His research aims to reduce anthropogenic climate change and build energy resilience and security by monitoring, measuring, managing, benchmarking, and enhancing the environmental performance of our existing urban building stock.

In Their Words

I gained unparalleled knowledge from the presentations from other participants while also gaining confidence and encouragement."

Ali Ahmed, 2014 Awardee

The chance to chair parallel sessions and to lead discussions for the talking circles was an excellent learning opportunity."

Padmore Amoah, 2016 Awardee